New Strangeness


Those long nights and all the fights

The fleeting glimpses, that stormy tide

What moved me I cannot explain

But now I deal with all that old pain

 

Should I have stayed subtle, stayed quiet?

Hidden in plain sight like I always had before

Because exquisitely destructive though it was;

All that love still belonged to me

 

Should I have left those unanswered prayers alone?

Not created stories in my head

But let life play along its own tune whilst

All that love still belonged to me

 

Should I have ignored the hand of all that glory?

Beautiful and filling the air all around me

Let make believe be that cosmic reality so that

All that love still belonged to me

 

But maybe your life was running me;

Like the rivers sprouting green

Like that beautifully germinating seed

Like the child growing within a belly-

And maybe that would have been all I had ever lived with-

Not this unsteady race across the continents inside me

 

But all that trust was never just

A joke; but a film playing inside my head

And now those things seem so strange again

Because everything has been said.

Leave a Reply

