Hang Up the Phone


Hang up the phone,
I’m not that girl anymore
I don’t sit up after the lights are off
Crying anymore
I don’t imagine what love should be like
From the bathroom floor

Hang up the phone,
I’m not that girl anymore
I won’t stay up listening to you talk
When I want to run away instead
I won’t spend hours contemplating
The roads my bare feet tread

Hang up the phone,
I’m not that girl anymore
I still keep all those diaries and letters
Just won’t ever look at them again
I still listen to those old songs
But can no longer feel the pain

Hang up the phone,
I’m not that girl anymore
I’m beginning to love the rain
But I don’t feel the loneliness
I’ve worked hard to make things better
And now I am beyond the mess

Hang up the phone
I’m not that girl anymore
I won’t pick up your broken pieces
Trying to get you back on your feet
I’m walking far ahead on another road
I’m trying to be me

Hang up the phone
I’m not that girl anymore
I am not flying over the city lights
Not following the sight and sound
I’m not tearing up inside, nor hurting out
My feet are firmly on the ground

Leave a Reply

