Villanelle (I Think?)


Your tenderness surrounds my life like a golden thread

Breathing life into me like wind to the mountaintops; screaming

There is love to be kept on this road ahead

 

Feelings of affection grow up out of fires of dread

Anticipation keeps me alive every day, so does knowing that

Your tenderness surrounds my life like a golden thread

 

I seek your attention with a child’s selfishness and shed

Tears of hot fire and pain because I cannot bear to forget

There is love to be kept on this road ahead

 

And I know no matter how many new paths I tread

I can feel your hand in my hand, your lips against mine because

Your tenderness surrounds my life like a golden thread

 

And all that is surreal stays alive inside my head

Falling slowly from one moment of remembrance to the next since

There is love to be kept on this road ahead

 

And I’ll fly on cold nights with you, far beyond my warm bed

Be all you look for, be all that makes you content because

Your tenderness surrounds my life like a golden thread

And there is love to be kept on this road ahead

Leave a Reply

