More than Skin and Bones


He’s holding on to my destiny

Like that kite flying in the sky

He doesn’t seem to know

That I am more than just skin and bones

I’m a whirlwind of colours

I’m the gush of autumn breeze

I’m the glare of the sun

And the cool shade of the glen

I’m the night of broken glass

I’m the morning ablaze with glory

I’m the peace inside some heart

I’m still an untold story

 

He’s holding on to my happiness

Like a flag flutters in the wind

He doesn’t seem to know

That I am more than just skin and bones

I am the whisper in the woods

I am the squirrel in the glade

I am the seagull skimming the water’s top

Out in the open sea

I am the silences of dead nights

And the buzz of that incessant bee

 

He’s holding on to the pieces of my life

Like a broken relic too precious to destroy

He doesn’t seem to know

That I am more than just skin and bones

I am the waves breaking against that cliff

I am the magic of a starlit sky

I am an orgy of dancing fireflies

I am the mystical chant of nature

I am that clear, blossoming twilight

Oh, how far and wide I travel!

Within these confines of imagination

I am so much more than skin and bones

If only he knew

 

This is for you  Meenam and for all us beautiful girls. 🙂

5 thoughts on “More than Skin and Bones

Leave a Reply

