Just Words


 

Here’s a song i love. But don’t listen to it unless you’re prepared to cry. It made me feel so sad and helpless. This song has probably changed how I feel about my little brother. Up until now, I thought of him as a sibling. He’s nine and I am twenty, which is a lot of age difference. But now I am beginning to feel that he is sort of my responsibility. I want to be the sort of elder sister who he can look up to and come to with his problems. I want to be connected to him so that when he hits puberty and starts getting all weird, he’ll always know that he can share stuff with me. Stuff he can’t tell mom and dad.

Also, its scary to know that when he will be twenty, I’ll be like thirty-one. Wow.

I have always had a soft spot for children but the thought of losing a child is the most horrifying, scary, unimaginable prospect in the world.

If this song touches you too, you can find out more about Ronan here. You can even make donations to the Ronan Thompson Foundation for little children suffering from cancer. Well, this isn’t a publicity post but just something I felt very strongly about, probably because I am so fond of children and cannot imagine the idea of losing any child I might someday have!

Speaking of children (and keeping with my everlasting fascintation with everything revolving around the second world war), I recently re-read Roald Dahl‘s short story Genesis and Catastrophe. There is something about this story that gave me little goosebumps.

Well, I have exams from the 3rd so I think I am going to be too busy to post for a while, which is a pity because I have all this new-found blog love bursting inside of me. But I will be back as soon as I can!

And I want to thank all the people who’ve been reading and liking my poems off late. Means the world to me. 🙂

So happy December everyone and bye-bye world of blogging, I will be back in a week (unless I am struck with a stroke of creative yearning in the midst of all my boring technical papers).

Au revoir!

 

Leave a Reply

