Holding Up This Fort


I am holding up this fort

All on my own

Nobody leads me anymore

When I look up towards the sky

Only the sun and the moon are my friends

And the stars that shine behind

But there is no one else

To show me which way to go

 

I am holding up this fort

All on my own

I think my dreams are blinking furiously

Like a silk worm‘s weaving action

Or a dragon breathing fire

But there is no one else

To stand and watch me go

 

I am holding up this fort

All on my own

The television blares in the background

But the colours are too darn bright

I am starting to drink in trouble

But there is no one else

To offer me a tonic

 

I am holding up this fort

All on my own

I think my eyes are filling up

And this road is too far winding

I don’t know where my inspirations have gone

But there is no one else

To sit here and meditate with

 

I am holding up this fort

All on my own

Now I am sinking deep into an abyss

Whispers bordering my mind

And the silence haunts my being

But there is no one else

To share this melancholic chant with

 

I am holding up this fort

All on my own

Nobody sees me sitting here

And nobody knows my story

And everyone I love is far away

But there is no one else

To feel the things that I feel ❤

Leave a Reply

