Life · Love · Poems

December


My December
My December (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You’ve fallen out of love with me

With a cruelness so thorough

Its like a barbed wire being wrapped around and around my skin

And a thousand feelings crawl

Beneath this ocean but I push them down

 

Six months I waited here

With a love so pure

I felt you would bring back the moon and stars

And the world would smile at me again

But those expectations are now intermingling with tears

 

You’ve fallen out of love with me

With a completeness so horrifying

It makes you question the reasons for my very existence here

And this heartbreak welcomes me

With open arms but I embrace it chillingly

 

Six months I waited here

With a happiness so exquisite

I thought you’d take me in your arms, kiss me on my lips

Run your hand through my hair and everything will be all right again

But now I am haunted by growing fears

 

You’ve fallen out of love with me

With a certainty so gut-wrenching

It makes me wonder if anything you ever said was true

Or just reasons to bring me closer to you

But these questions scare me; I defy them

 

Six months I waited here

For you to miss me and say it

Thinking, my winter will be magical, beautiful

But now I know December will just be December

And it will nudge me coldly into the New Year

Leave a Reply

