I Forgot to Have Fun


I was playing in a sandbox

On a beautiful, sunny day

I was chasing a butterfly

Down in my garden all the way

I was laughing and I couldn’t stop

Because you tickled me so

And then I grew up and forgot

to have fun the way I used to know

 

I was listening to a cassette

On our old, dark cassette player

I was reading out the story line-by-line

I loved Karadi’s voice in my ear

I lay on the bed; kissed you goodnight

Because you loved me so

And then I grew up and forgot

to have fun the way I used to know

 

I was riding on a scooter

Sandwiched between you two on a tiny seat

An outing meant some hours in the fresh air

And something yummy to eat

I would clap my hands gleefully

Because you gripped me tightly so

And then I grew up and forgot

to have fun the way I used to know

 

I was playing when it rained

Splashing about in puddles on the road

And my tiny world was so pretty

No reason to be bored

I was perfectly safe forever

If only things hadn’t changed so!

But then I grew up and forgot

to have fun the way I used to know

PS: These are some of the FEW few things I can remember from my earliest childhood days in Ahmedabad. I don’t know why I thought of this tonight; but this poem simply came into my head and made me sad. I wouldn’t mind going back into that time zone; when I was tiny and my world was complete because of my mom and dad and everything was so simple. Ah well, things die.

3 thoughts on “I Forgot to Have Fun

  1. Powerful and well written….takes me back to my happy childhood days 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Beautifully expressed ,reminded me also of all those loving moments spent with you my dearest daughter.love you :))

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

