Rains of Castamere


[Spoiler alert for Game of Thrones the HBO series]

Walder Frey, you sick old man, sitting there on that throne of yours in the Twins and cackling in that evil, disgusting way.

Well, they did it. The dreadful Red Wedding is over.

The thing about the Red Wedding is, there are so many spoilers about it online that people like me are bound to come up against them. And I did. And that’s how I found out about it. Not through the book, not through the show but through Google. Nothing can be worst (but then I just read that the actor who plays Robb Stark found it out the exact same way!).

Anyway, it was reading this spoiler that made me finally pick up the Song of Ice and Fire books. And then I read through the wedding.

Brilliantly acted, Michelle Fairley

And last night I saw the show. Even though I knew what was coming, it was horrible. Watching it played out in flesh and blood was worst than reading it. I think, if I hadn’t known about it beforehand, I could have had a heart attack. It was that heart-wrenching, both performance-wise and story-wise.

As I have proceeded with reading the story (having finished The Feast for Crows so far), I have begun to feel more and more attracted towards the possibility of Jon Snow’s importance in the story line, along with Daenerys Targaryen and Brandon Stark. So far I feel, these are the people who’re leading up to something. In fact, at the end of the Feast with Crows, we find Aemon Targeryen placing all his hopes on Daenerys, having just found out about her existence.

However, much as Ned Stark’s beheading, the Red Wedding reminds us once again that we should not fall too deeply in love with any of the characters in Westeros because this is a cruel world.

The Red Wedding is still playing in the back of my head somewhere; it was beautifully shot and tragically portrayed. Killing Robb’s wife with a vicious finality was another devastating touch which only outlined the delicious grief that poured out from the Rains of Castamere.

I am sure that for first time show watchers, this was one heck of an emotional night. But fans of GoT should not give up on the series because of its tragedies. GoT is representing cruelty the way the real world does and its not holding back on any of this, which makes it all the more interesting for me. The only thing I ask for is to protect the youngest Stark children- Brandon, Rickon and Arya but even that seems like too much to expect from George R.R. Martin. After all, he has already promised us a bittersweet ending to A Song of Ice and Fire. There will be many more deaths, sure. POV character deaths as well. But we hope the end of this saga will be an act of vengeance, even in death.

One thought on “Rains of Castamere

Leave a Reply

