Life · Love · Music

Mix Tape Me


Make a mix tape/playlist that let’s people know who you are through songs!

Music is like a window to a soul. It’s the truest statement there ever was because very often the music we listen to, defines us. Or rather, we may use it to define ourselves. So if you’ve been asked to introduce yourself to someone new through music, consider it a wonderful thing because the person in front of you is probably going to end up seeing a large chunk of your heart.

So what music defines me? Here’s a list. Feel free to browse through these tiny pieces of my soul. 🙂

Defining me:

Breakaway by Kelly Clarkson

I still remember the first time I heard this song on MTV. I was small but a song that talks about breaking out of your small-town life and making it big in the world appealed to my dreams.

‘I’ll spread my wings and I’ll learn how to fly,

I’ll do what it takes till I touch the sky and I’ll

make a wish, take a chance, make a change and breakaway.’

I will never tire of this song, it will never stop inspiring me. It will always carry a part of me around in it because it’s beautiful. It’s about hoping, dreaming relentlessly and pursuing your dreams even if you have to move away. And it’s about retaining your identity and staying true to who you are, inspite of it all.

Never Grow Up by Taylor Swift

In this song, Taylor Swift talks about her little brother. That is what makes this song so special; it is addressed to her baby brother and this song can tear anyone up. It’s about the regrets of growing up and wanting to be big but not knowing how life is going to change and how much you’re going to miss the things that are gone.

Your little hand’s wrapped around my finger
And it’s so quiet in the world tonight
Your little eyelids flutter cause you’re dreaming
So I tuck you in, turn on your favorite night light
To you everything’s funny, you got nothing to regret
I’d give all I have, honey
If you could stay like that
Oh darling, don’t you ever grow up
Don’t you ever grow up, just stay this little
Oh darling, don’t you ever grow up
Don’t you ever grow up, it could stay this simple
I won’t let nobody hurt you, won’t let no one break your heart

We never want the children in our lives to grow up and I’ve been fortunate enough to watch my little brother be a child. So has Taylor Swift. That’s why this song is so easy for me to relate to.

The Best Day

This beautiful song, dedicated to her mother, is another one that can tear me up. Nostalgia, gratitude, love and a deep sadness all engulf you at once as you think about your parents. And this song has the tendency to make you do that in a very emotional way.

“I don’t know why the trees change in the fall

I know you’re not scared of anything at all

Don’t know if Snow White’s house is near or far away

But I know I had the best day with you today”

PS: This particular version that I have shared here collects clippings out of home videos made by Taylor Swift’s parents when she was little! Fair warning: It is precious and can make you cry.

Lightweight by Demi Lovato

This song defines me. I can feel it, I can feel everything in it. It’s a beautiful song about being sensitive and how painful it can be. What makes this song extra special to me is that I know Demi Lovato is singing her heart out, talking about her own life here.

Skip Along by Lenka

How to make it through the bad days of life? Well, just skip along!

For the First Time from The Script

When it comes to love, nothing beats this song!

Other favourites:

White Flag by Dido

Halo by Beyonce

Red by Taylor Swift

That’s the way I loved you by Taylor Swift

Naked by Avril Lavigne

Your Guardian Angel by The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

Pretty Baby by Vanessa  Carlton

Hindi Songs:

Chahoon Bhi from Force

Mere Sang from New York

Khwabon ke Parindey from Zindagi na Milegi Dobara

Tum Ho Toh from Rock On

Teri Yaadein from the TV series Love Story

Sadka Kiya from I Hate Love Stories

This is probably my favourite Daily Post yet, even though I am almost a week late in posting. Thanks if you got through till the end. I feel like I still managed to touch only a fraction of the songs that I can use to define me! But oh well, the post cannot go on forever!

3 thoughts on “Mix Tape Me

Leave a Reply

