Regret


Don’t dance, let me breath.
Those words were like a melody
Ridden,  hardhearted, unbroken
And magnified by words unspoken
Spooky, haunting yet endearing
Battling scars and pain so searing
It killed me.

You deserve it; I thought.
Everything is the way it should be.
But when I saw light and found my spot
The city life left me hurting.
There was no happiness, just regret.
Like reading old verses from a favorite book
Which means nothing to you any more.

I broke into spasms of ache
Looking for the daylight, swimming in the lake
Of painful self-prophesying
Reminiscence  and admonishments.
But there was no end in sight.
Until I found my soul again

Tainted mosaic I had painted
One that I could not erase
But I could stand upon it’s surface
And it broke beneath me,
Scattered regrets.

Humble Pie

10 thoughts on “Regret

  1. I love this one. I have a question for you…How did you get it so you could post your poetry, book reviews, etc, under separate pages. For example, you have links to your lovely poems on your poetry page. I would love to make this addition to my blog, but have no idea how! Thank you 🙂

    1. Hello! Thanks 🙂
      When you go to your Dashboard, you’ll see a tab called ‘Pages’ on the left. If you click on it, you’ll see an option to add a new page in the subsequent window. That’s how you add separate pages and modify the content for each page. You can add links to each in the usual way, of course. Hope that helped 🙂

Leave a Reply

