Spectre


These ocean waves would sweep through sun-kissed youth
Leaving behind a barren land with nothing left to give
Just the agony of broken dreams washing through me
With no more sweet memories left to collect

These burnt bridges will come to haunt me
Carrying carcasses of disappointments and
A wreck of painful recollections akin to a melting fire
Rising through the soul of my suspended heart

These people will come out as ghosts
Riding into the sullen silence of my last chapter
Dulling it’s grey hues with helpless tears of their own
And love-lost, I’ll be forced to watch with nothing to hold on to

These days will go shorter as winter will descend
These seasons will pass and I won’t be myself anymore
These whispers will deaden and I will coalesce
These limbs will fade and I’ll become a spectre

Leave a Reply

