Love · Poems

Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?


 

http://www.bloodyloud.com/realistic-portraits-of-women-illustration-ileana-hunter/

Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?
When I lift my eyes towards the scorching sun
And all I see are scars
When scabbed, we lie broken in pieces
And all I see are tears
When blood flows free and skins turn red
It makes no sense to be happy anymore

Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?
And would you tell me when and how too?
Is it through the piercing screams or the battered souls
Or the pained lives of an exquisite flower
Crumpled because you couldn’t let her grow
Is it because the way you came into this world
Was so poetically just, you had to repay it with an act of your own
Begetting something so tragic, she couldn’t let it show?

Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?
When everyone of our soft hearts are meant to be trodden
And our bodies displayed to paint pictures upon
When every sneer and glare and glance reeks of discomfort
And the oozing sleaziness induces disgust
Of a sort you cannot dismantle and don’t know how to display
And darkening lives don’t make any difference anyway?

Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?
Should I rejoice because the streets are open
And life could be so much more like a prison
Trapped in a corset, given only backhanded means to stumble towards victory
At least I am that free
Could I be as tall as the tallest tree
And still have nobody judge me?

Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?
Are YOU happy or just gleeful with giddy joy
Or swimming in a dream of your own creation
I look beyond these white lives
Into the dreary waters of the emptiness
Into the face of hollow irony
I don’t see happiness, I see lives without meaning
Singing songs no one  hears
Seeing things no one understands
Happy? Is it really what you want me to be?

2 thoughts on “Happy? Is that what I’m supposed to be?

Leave a Reply

