philosophical · Poems

Invisible


http://findingjustice.org/feeling-invisible/

These country roads don’t define me
I’m a summer girl
With a heart full of flowers and love
And crisp blue skies
Folded over with clumps of white smoky clouds
Smiling down from heaven like tiny little faces
Of children left behind

There’s pain in my heart but it’s overcome by the sun today
Like a new year is dawning for me, right this minute
It could lift my spirits through the dark
Paint me in red, so sparkling and tangled
And attached to the strings of the heart
That in sullen silence, death too would give way

These little poems don’t define me
I’m a transient girl
I’ll drift in a fit, out of this moment and into the next
I’ll visit the ancient halls of human fame with reverence
And scorn at the Gods lining the walls behind bookcases
I’ll stay indoors and gorge and watch the birds fly home
I’ll rest my head against my chest
I’ll repeat my stories as though they are my prayers

These singularities don’t define me
I feel like I rise on a flame
Swing freely and go down freely as well
I feel like I hide my strengths and push out my weaknesses
Into the bright revolutionary light

These shifting glances don’t define me
I start and stare and turn away
I look for things to do, things to say
I stutter and look away
I feel lost without hope, a blazing fire without fuel
I feel myself blush for no reason and then comforted by the strangest notions
I take refuge behind words and turn them over on my tongue
Like flavours

These country roads don’t define me
I’m a city girl through and through
I love the concrete jungle, the hot masses
I love getting lost in the crowd
I love feeling utterly invisible, given to hurt
I am standing on a podium and staring at people, blinking through the confusion
But I love feeling impossible
I love feeling mysterious
This invisibility cradles me and haunts me and hurts me and hunts me.

2 thoughts on “Invisible

  1. Hi, I wanted to thank you for the follow! I like this poem of yours.
    My blog is a bilingual one. So you may get links to poems in English as well as to some in Italian… Pictures, on the other hand, have no language barriers 😉
    Keep up the good work.
    Anna

Leave a Reply

