Love · Poems

Somewhere Else


http://thewaytimeworks.blogspot.in/2012/07/someday.html

I know that look you gave me
When lightning-struck we surveyed the quiet lands
Underneath the billboard
Standing silently there- a brooding man
His cigarette lit against the sky in defiance
As though owning the world is something
He naturally does

But I don’t think we belong to
This world of pleasure paraded through
Under our noses- large, rising, out of control
Naked under the sudden glare
Tortured, I have made my peace
To being pitted against myself and everyone else
And so I beg you to take me somewhere else

I know that look you gave me
When you beheld me that first time
You lingered on my tattered underclothes
The ones I am too proud to change
And wondered why I was this way
This unholy war I fight against
the grievances of strangers

But I don’t think we belong here
Where sudden nightmares turn to life
And heaven seems to find delight
In taunting and mocking everything I hold dear
There’s struggle and it’s only momentary
But I still need to live through a hundred years
And so I beseech you- take me somewhere else

 

Just…some where else 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

