This is Where I Leave You


 

This is where I leave you
When the sky meets the sea
You’ll travel forth in pomp and grandeur
And maybe I will stay back and see
You came out of the mountains
Gliding like an angel on wings
But nothing is for granted here
When winter songs the summer brings

This is where I leave you
We were promised an adventure
And in the bright night moonlit sky
We sought instead a meaningless surrender
That came upon a gloomy wave
And galloping through my deep dark storm
It grew into a full-fledged monster
Glorious in its devastating form

This is where I leave you
I always knew this day would come
When sun-stroked I would seek you
Belched out from unfaithful scum
But silently I whispered knowing
I was always all broken up inside
And goodbye rose on lips uncertain
Because everything else we had to hide

This is where I leave you
I don’t think you will be gloomy now
The sun is rising on your back
You’ll find your way without knowing how
I’ll find my peace of mind somewhere
Flip through imagination’s web
Or turn a page in memory lane
To protect myself from the burning ebb

 

Leave a Reply

