Before.


There’s magic in that moment
Suspended between pleasure and something so exquisitely twisted,
it can own me

I will surrender in a second
If only I didn’t know the pain
of this haunting roundabout
I’ve been on it before
A dozen times before

There’s horror in the shrieks and calls
of the happy monster climbed atop my shoulder
Good, sweet, silly, fearful memories

I will surrender in a second
And perhaps I never did know
How life can dwindle to a single image
I’ve thought of it before
A thousand times before

There’s reality intricately absorbed
On some quiet road down my soul
like a forbidden fruit- I need it

I will surrender in a second
There really is no need to know
If death or life awaits me
I have lain here, this way before
A million times before.

Song of the moment:

Leave a Reply

