Womb


Filtered sunshine
Poured in through
The netted curtains
Flaming in the summer heat; Aghast
At the horror of light
Longing for the sweet embrace
Of cold, beautiful darkness
I crawled back into the womb

Those days, it seemed
Like every dream
Was a roadkill under my wheels
The putrid air
Was choking me
And I searched frantically for peace
The littered floor, the deadly gore and
I crawled back into the womb

Fondly recalled
Those gracious calls
The demons that used to vanish in thin air
And loving arms held me tight
I was jolted back into my living nightmare
By whispers at shady corners
Seven deadly sins, my broken shins
I crawled back into the womb

Foreign words
Garbled speech
I twisted myself and everyone else
Along thin branches on crooked trees
The roots lay rotting
They tugged at me
I retched it all on the floor before
I crawled back into the womb

Your hands were rough
They hurt on touch
You pulled me to my feet
I staggered for
A mile before
Collapsing in the street
You wondered what was wrong with me and
I crawled back into the womb

The burning coal
Hot branding iron
The smell of smoke and skin
That liaison based
On lies and tricks
Could have cut me to my bone
What a dangerous game you played and
I crawled back into the womb

The future appeared
In golden arcs
And then it disappeared
In old shoes and jeans
I admired those shiny heels
And the sights and sounds
Of inebriation; but then
I crawled back into the womb

Those fairy tales
Just lie beyond
My line of sight
I sometimes scream without sound
So the darkness is sweet
And the light that peeps
It hurts my eyes because
I crawled back into the womb

Leave a Reply

