Blind


http://i.huffpost.com/gen/1446453/thumbs/o-SNAKES-facebook.jpg

I could have picked up excuses
Dozens of them
Instead I chose the truth
The one that sleeps around my neck
I can’t let people near me without letting them see
Not near enough

They get a little stung too
Which is why they leave
Or I ask them to
I haven’t been deserted in a long, long time
I am deathly scared of snakes
In my dreams I am bitten
Circled around and betrayed

I can’t have people loitering around
The snake is still right here
Sometimes I don’t see her for days on end
And I rejoice
Then I wonder if the slowly spreading poison
Is just making me go blind

Leave a Reply

