Black Space


In the black space
Where my thighs meet
The sudden sparks had come and gone
And all that stayed was charred and burnt
Someday, maybe I had known
The wisps of white that spooked me and choked me
They had come on winter days, with dew
With the smell of coffee and the sound of rain
And that little red smelly trickle down my bathroom drain

In the black space
Where my thighs meet
The sunlight broke down every time
Afraid that in the sinewy dreams that fluttered beyond
Like butterflies on the mirage of a plateau
Lay the uncertain blinking highway lights
It had come on a brittle, unreal day
With sounds of a motor running through the night
Fresh and resounding like silence in my ears

In the black space
Where my thighs meet
Softly, the epiphany had come true and nobody
Questioned the flow of time, for it was only moving forward
Unlike me, clutching love stories and tea cups stained pink
With the silly strokes of strange lovers inside me
It had rung on a spiraling day, when waves
Of pain had caused a dampened pillow to smoothen down
And curled hair swam in the watery sink

Leave a Reply

