Twice


I see you twice

Once from the gap between my eyes
Where opaque shadows grow limbs and shake
Their sleepy torsos wide-awake
And then from the land where
Fiery-eyed dragons ride an orange moon
And underneath the sea bubbles its blue-green froth
Lending teeth to my skin

I see you twice; you are
The silhouette on my window shield
And you are the little fairy
Tying totems to my wrists

I see you twice; you are
The grains brazing my skin on a sandy road
And you are the blue-grey tinge
Lighting up my mobile screen

I see you twice; you push my hair away
And you find me new ghosts to slay
I see you twice you turn my memories into stone
And warm my body’s hardening clay

I see you twice; you turn off the lights
And on the pillow my heart trots to life
You pull me off the cliff alive
And shield me from the invasive flight

Leave a Reply

