Uncategorized

The pain in my chest


Good god! Who sought
The pain in my chest?
It was real. It was raw
The pain in my chest
I saw images I fought.
Reflect in the pain in my chest.

The pain in my chest. They come
Again. For me, I withdraw
To be half-mad is a game to me.
The pain in my chest. They said
It was gone. I chant again and again
The pain. The pain. My pain.

I want, I demand, I belong to it
Once again. On my own. I am drawn to it.
The pain in my chest. My chest.
Not yours. My pain. Step back!
I am trapped. It’s a trap! A trap.
My sweaty palm. Red eyes. White lips.
It’s a trap! A trap. Stay back

The pain in my chest is withdrawn.
I retreat. The pain in my chest is gone.
You spread a sheet on the floor.
A white sheet. Snow white. We befall.
Into dreams. Sweet dreams. I am gone.

The pain. My pain. Not yours.
Step back! It will not be poured out.
Like wine, cheap wine. My pain.
The pain in my chest is mine. They will come
They will see. They will go. They will say
To be half-mad was a game to her.
The pain in my chest. And she won.

One thought on “The pain in my chest

  1. why are you possessive about your pain?
    I mean if this pain is self inflicted then you can always create newer versions of it. So self inflicted pain eventually loses its identity as it can be re-created.
    And if it is not self inflicted, which means it’s not yours to keep. It was given to you and you would have to return it back. Not to the source but to someone else.
    Both the cases indicates the same question regarding the possessiveness of the pain.

Leave a Reply

