Uncategorized

I Will Never Love You Like That Again


I am keeping my promise to myself. I saw some words that struck me, leading to this poem. I don’t think it is very good but as long as it keeps me moving, that is all I want for now. I don’t want to lose touch with my creative side. So here goes nothing.

alternative-bridge-hipster-mist-favim-com-2264619
http://favim.com/image/2264619/

 

I will never love you like that again

Behind broken bridges you stand
I can still feel your eyes on me
Glasses askew and shoelace untied
You’re nothing but a shadow to me

I lit the match and watched it die
While smoke arose all around me
It was rain that finally doused the fire
Only that settling smoke left to breathe

Once we watched the night sky light up
Now I let its glow drown the sighs in me
I will never love you like that again
I am letting the rest of the world bewitch me.

I will never love you like that again
These metaphors cave in with my poetry
I’m not dancing yet, but getting there
Moving in circles with my memories

I will never love you like that again
Those days are far, far behind me.

 

4 thoughts on “I Will Never Love You Like That Again

  1. “I will never love you like that again
    These metaphors cave in with my poetry
    I’m not dancing yet, but getting there
    Moving in circles with my memories”
    You rule!

Leave a Reply

