Winter (Though I Ain’t Complainin’). And the Fast Approaching 2014


So the world is getting darker and colder as 2014 approaches. Why is it that every year we must face new year under gloomy, foggy skies? Even the attempts of your favourite RJ on  your favourite FM Mirchi channel trying to bring in some winter cheer seems to fall flat on its face because it’s just s-so brrrr!

Hey, unless you’re in Australia, of course. Those people get to go to the beach and drink mimosas and surf on the 1st of January.

Not that I am complaining. It’s not so cold in my part of the country. While the north of India struggles to get out of their rajais every morning, I’m gonna find the task a lot less daunting. Indeed we spend New Year’s eve at a rooftop potluck which sounds like an utterly insane idea, and it is, but you get the satisfaction of exclaiming, ‘Aha! See, it’s never that cold here-brrr!’ while you try to get your numb fingers dexterous enough to stuff chicken tikkas into your mouth and all your clothes start to turn smoky because you obviously have a bonfire going. Obviously.

See, there’s an outline of my New Year bonanza, every year for the past five years (I think)! Sounds delectable, doesn’t it?

I end up feeling absolutely nothing as the clock chimes the midnight hour. The only interesting part is watching people who are unused to staying up till midnight, struggle with their drooping eyelids. They win the battle but I am not sure of the purpose.

I guess this here, is right what it’s all about.

Okay, don’t get me wrong. I’m all for new beginnings but I just don’t feel the New Year bug that seems to infest people this time of the year.  I go along with it and even though it doesn’t work, hey at least I generate a new post for my blog!

I’m kidding. Go ahead and plan your 2014 right down to the minute in that new 2014 calendar diary you’re going to purchase your iPhone’s planner and download a new app or two while you’re at it.

Let me know how your 2014 is shaping up! 😀

5 thoughts on “Winter (Though I Ain’t Complainin’). And the Fast Approaching 2014

  1. Yep! I’m in Australia. It’s 35 degrees C and we have to spend every waking moment in the pool. I’d love to be snuggled up beside a fireplace. I love your meme… can I borrow it for my blog today? I’ll credit you 🙂

    1. Haha. Well that would sound inviting too! Much better than the insane rooftop potluck we have 😛 Despite the fire, there is a chilly wind. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a comment